Three Tips I Learned Presenting at My First Tech Conference

Presenting at PyData Global and some tricks to make your content resonate with the audience

Braden Riggs
5 min readNov 3, 2021
Photo by Ian Harber on Unsplash

From October 28th to the 30th I participated in PyData Global 2021, an event hosted by the non-profit educational program PyData, that focuses on helping connect, educate, and grow the data science community. Although Python is in the name, the event welcomes developers and researchers from all different backgrounds to share their tools and experience with the wider community.

For me this was my first data science event, having only graduated this year I had missed out on a number of conferences due to the pandemic and I was thrilled to finally be able to attend one, albeit virtually. Not only would I be attending the event I would also be representing my company Dolby and presenting two webinars, a short 10-minute lightning talk, and a full-length 90-minute tutorial.

As a first-time data science speaker and a recent graduate, jumping headfirst into the community was a daunting task and I wanted to share three things I learned along the way for anyone looking to get involved as a speaker.

What Was I Presenting?

--

--

Braden Riggs

Australian Data Scientist/Enthusiast | Developer Advocate@ Dolby.io | in/briggs599 | @BradenRiggs1